Dear Diary…

Ever since I was old enough to write, I have kept a diary or journal. And because of the extreme satisfaction I receive from completing a full notebook (or using all the ink in a pen), I have a hard time getting rid of them, although I probably should.

artjournalpagetabs

{If I die unexpectedly, they are in a safe place and I have a few friends who know where to find them and to BURN THEM.}

A few years ago, I had some deep dark mental health issues, and thought that writing out my thoughts would be good therapy. Turns out, it was quite the opposite, and I stopped altogether. My hands ached to put pen down on paper and my brain churned wanting to puke out its thoughts, so earlier this year I decided to work on a new form of journaling: a visual diary. I already knew I wanted to make intentional creating a part of my daily habits, but I had no idea that starting my mornings off with art journaling would be so therapeutic.

With a new year quickly approaching, I’m eager to get my calendar set up for 2018’s journal. I learned so much this year, and I’m ready to share the process with you! So many of my friends have expressed concerns that they aren’t “artistic” or they could never do it. But trust me, it’s not true!! If you can scribble and if you have a few minutes of free time to tune in and zone out, I know you can be a successful “art journaler.”

artjournalpageKeepsakes

I have culled information and ideas from dozens of books about art journaling, and I think I found the perfect blend for my time commitment and goals. What works for me won’t work for everyone, but if you are interested in a workshop, I am in the works of compiling a few evenings of art journal goal setting and set-up.

Join me in December {date and time to be determined} for an evening of setting up your very own yearly journal. The workshop will cost about $50, and include a dynamic journal and supplies to get it set up and snazzy to your liking, plus inspirational prompts, brainstorming ideas, and, duh, snacks.

Check back soon for registration!

 

artjournalpagebooks

 

 

Leave a Reply

