Q&A with Mora B

19787159_10159008297740596_102364417746077694_o

  1. Name  – Mora Brinkman
  2. Current City – Chicago, IL
  3. What did you want to be when you grew up? – There were several phases: Fashion designer, Broadway singer, Professor, Queen of America (The Presidential role didn’t interest me.)
  4. What are you now? Director of Marketing Communications for a medical device company and Independent Consultant for Arbonne International.
  5. How did you get to this point? I studied advertising in undergrad, public relations in grad school and have held positions at advertising and PR agencies. A few years ago I went to the “Client Side” which may as well be “Dark Side,” as ad execs discuss it. But it’s pretty great — it’s a thriving industry and, everyday, I work with marketers, engineers, manufacturers, designers and writers to develop integrated communications platforms for companies and products. I have always liked the science + art of brand management. It also gives me an opportunity to strengthen my writing muscle.
  6. Are you paid doing what you love? If not, what would you like to be paid to do? I get paid doing what I like. I have always wanted to do communications for a large art center/museum. Communications is the common thread, though. I hold a deep respect for people in the healthcare world. It’s a complicated space and I find a lot of satisfaction in simplifying it as much as possible for patients and caregivers.
  7. Current project(s): Re-building my company’s brand from the bottom >>> up!
  8. What are you reading/listening to/watching/making: “How to Fascinate,” “Big Magic” and “Someone at a Distance.” I journal regularly. I write a lot of bad poetry in which I turn our political leaders into barnyard animals. It helps me digest our political environment.
  9. How do you express yourself creatively? Writing, mostly.
  10. Have you ever written a fan letter? If so, to whom? No, but I’ve had really awkward run-ins with celebrities. Re: to 14-year-old self casually chatting up Brad Pitt.  
  11. Drink of choice? Cocktail: G&T; wine: I have seasonal preferences
  12. Who inspires you, and why? Funny ladies. Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Carole Burnett. Being a successful comedienne is so rarely appreciated that I find the success and creativity of these women inspiring.
  13. Favorite tool to stay productive (for example, a set of watercolors, a specific planner or app, an exercise program…) Microsoft Outlook? My moleskin notebook.
  14. Something you have learned this year? Enjoy and appreciate the moment.
  15. How can people find you? Met4bd on instagram, FB, LinkedIn or write me at Mora.thompson@gmail.com
  16. What can people do to make the world a better place? Express themselves creatively. Bring beauty to the world.
Leave a Reply

