Q&A with Lindsey A.

lindsey
Last year, Lindsey messaged me to ask if I would help her with a project she was working on. I. Was. Shocked. It was like I was in The Twilight Zone…or at least, the high school version of me felt that way. Let me tell you a bit out Lindsey: she was the girl in high school who could do it all. Cheerleader, dancer, actress, beautiful, smart, funny. I thought she was soooooooooo cool. I was too intimidated to ever talk to her.

And here we are, years later, the two of us are working together on her creative passion project, which mark my words, will be in print and film version in the very near future. I’ve loved every minute of collaborating with her, helping her take a literal dream she had one night, and turning it into a complex, timely, thrilling novel. Through the process, we both have learned a lot, and she has found a calling in becoming an advocate to end human trafficking across the globe. She’s a natural talent and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

{Tapioca Note: I stole this picture from @ShowMetheRavi’s Instagram. Lindsey was hired to do the hair and makeup for one of Ravi Patel’s tv shows.}

1. Name: Lindsey Arellano
2. Current City: Kansas City
3. What did you want to be when you grew up? Everything ;) Author, Teacher, Actress, Photographer, Comedian, Scuba diving instructor on a small island far far away, voice over for animation
4. What are you now? Everything ;) Aspiring author, choreographer, makeup artist, mom of four which is basically like a janitor or zookeeper
5. How did you get to this point? I ask myself that question everyday, before sobbing into my pillow. But seriously, I walked through open doors and took hold of every opportunity. There have been many a freelance job that I hesitated taking before reminding myself that each open door is a new possibility. You never know what connections are waiting. You may have the chances to better yourself, further your skills, make a new friend, or get another job.
6. Are you paid doing what you love? If not, what would you like to be paid to do? I get paid to do makeup jobs. I don’t get paid for my day job which is changing diapers, cleaning spills, and feeding children all day long. I would love to sell my novel and get paid for my writing.
7. Current project(s): I recently finished my first novel, AMONG THE DAHLIAS, thanks to my insanely terrific editor: Nicole Chilton!
8. What are you reading/listening to/watching/making: I just finished Paula Hawkins INTO THE WATER, I am taking a break from Television/netflix (gasp) so I can get some work done on my second book that I’ve already started (15,000 words in)
9. How do you express yourself creatively? Writing, choreography, music, art. My daughter, Wren, and I sat on the patio painting water color recently and I could have stayed there for days undisturbed.
10. Have you ever written a fan letter? If so, to whom? Yes. My first one was to Annette Funicello (original mouseketeer) around the age of seven or eight. Recently I have written emails to a few of my favorite authors (now that I know how much hard work and dedication goes into finishing a novel, querying, and actually selling it!) A few include Laura McHugh, Mary Kubica, and Megan Miranda
11. Drink of choice? coffee
12. Who inspires you, and why? 
  • My husband. He is the most self-less, hard working, caring person I know. During his service in the Marine Corps, he was hit with a grenade and shot. Doctors told him he would never walk again. He is currently training for his second Tough Mudder. He lives every day like its his last, squeezing the most out of every moment, seizing every opportunity to bless someone else and to laugh as much as possible.
  • My sister is a the most unwavering driven person I know.  She never backs down from a challenge.
  • Also, my kids because I see their souls untainted by the world, by other people’s opinions, social media, etc. They are fearless, uninhibited, frequently naked, and don’t think twice about singing or dancing in public.
13. Favorite tool to stay productive (for example, a set of watercolors, a specific planner or app, an exercise program…) No, if you know of a way, besides ical, please tell me.
14. Something you have learned this year?
  • I have learned that convenience kills quality.
  • Nothing good comes from taking the quick or easy way (including healthy meals).
  • I’ve learned that I’m a lot tougher than I thought, much more resilient.
  • I’ve also learned that if I don’t take care of myself, I can’t take care of others.
  • Also, I love beautiful landscaping but I don’t like laying a flagstone patio myself.
15. How can people find you? I struggle here. If I could remain anonymous forever I probably would. Alas, artists have to put themselves out there. Insta: lindsey.arellano
email: lindsey.m.arellano@gmail.com, website that is nowhere up to par: www.lindseyarellano@gmail.com
16. What can people do to make the world a better place? Love and kindness. Love the people around you the best you can regardless of shared opinions and beliefs. Love yourself and your body its the only one you have. Love your family in a way that shatters your comfort zone.
Leave a Reply

