A Room of My Own

A room of one’s own is a luxurious thing. My new job at the Springfield Regional Arts Council has its own office, complete with a window, nice lighting, and a chair on wheels. It. Is. Amazing. Part of me wants to set up shop there permanently, and bring my art supplies and easels for when I’m not keeping books and writing checks.

This daydream has had me really thinking about the luxury of having a space to create. And more importantly, time to do it. Which has led me to researching local residencies and grants (of which there are very few in southwest Missouri).

Where do you seek solace for your personal projects and passions? A corner of your house? Your favorite coffee shop? Or do you have a studio or shed? I’d love to see photos! Post them to Instagram and #tapiocaSpaces, and I will compile a gallery.

I also recommend checking out The Split Nibs’ post about “The Perfect Spot.”

 

Leave a Reply

