Q&A with Jessica from Telos Art

  1. Name: Jessica Connolly

  2. Current City: Phoenix, AZ

  3. What did you want to be when you grew up? An architect or designer

  4. What are you now? A graphic designer and artist

  5. How did you get to this point? After finishing architecture school I practiced for 7 years before striking out on my own to pursue graphic
    design and art.
  6. Are you paid doing what you love? Amazingly and gratefully, yes!
  7. Current project(s): Memoir layout and cover design, logo design, painting, and jewelry design.
  8. What are you reading/listening to/watching/making: I wish I made more time to read! But I’m reading Four Seasons in Rome by Anthony Doerr — the perfect mix of architecture and Italy (a gift from my sister who knows me well.)
  9. How do you express yourself creatively? I love to paint and make jewelry!
  10. Have you ever written a fan letter? If so, to whom? I curate and design a calendar every year featuring a few of my favorite current religious artists. Any time I reach out to the artists, it feels a bit like fan mail!
  11. Drink of choice? Wine or hard cider.
  12. Who inspires you, and why? My faith inspires a lot of what I do. People who have lived their lives living, serving, and sacrificing for others is a big inspiration to me.
  13. Favorite tool to stay productive (for example, a set of watercolors, a specific planner or app, an exercise program…) Typically the computer, but also acrylic paint and a wooden canvas (I just hate painting on gessoed fabric, I don’t know why!)
  14. Something you have learned this year? To follow my creative leading and trust my design instincts. That I have a creative voice people are interested in hearing! It’s humbling, but inspiring!
  15. How can people find you? I’m most active on Instagram @telosart or on at
    www.telos.design
  16. What can people do to make the world a better place? Seek beauty, truth, and goodness. Love others even when it means tough love.

  17. Brag about yourself. Nicole and I were both art directors in high school (she was one year ahead of me) and I was so grateful for her forging the path! I think we both made some pretty great art for the school (at least, at the time it was good!) That experience gave me the confidence to pursue more creative endeavors in my life, including architecture school and ultimately the work I get to do now. With lots of little stepping stones along the way.
Leave a Reply

