Q&A with Andie B.

Do you ever see someone on social media and think, I really want to be friends with them? That’s how I feel about Andie. Her talent is multi-faceted, and I find myself watching her Instagram stories on repeat, dying of laughter.

Andie is one of the hardest working people I have ever met. She acts, she writes, she paints, she directs, she does it all! And that’s ON TOP OF MULTIPLE JOBS. I don’t know how she does it.

I had the wonderful privilege of hanging out with her recently, and we have daydreams of having a champagne pool party one of these days soon. (Join us, will you?)

19390774_10155409706449122_5637866062543098750_o

Name: Andie Bottrell
Current City:  Springfield, MO
What did you want to be when you grew up?  Actor/Writer/Musician/Dancer/Gymnast aka Creator/Performer
What are you now? Struggling to breathe and stay above water!
Day Jobs: 1. Client Relations Manager at Piatchek & Associates, 2. Medical Writer at NKP Medical Marketing, and 3. Archive Metadata Researcher and Writer for the Louis Armstrong House Museum.
Trying-To-Make-My-Career Jobs: Artist at Lines Were Drawn Etsy Shop, Actor/Writer/Filmmaker at “please someone invest in me/hire me/pimp me out” of such projects as Mind of Mercer (short film), Ms. Maron’s Couples Counseling (short film), Landlocked (webseries), The Weight (feature film starring Clayne Crawford), and most recently Seek Help (webseries)…as well as several plays (most recently as Karen in Unnecessary Farce at Tent Theatre last summer).
How did you get to this point?
Day jobs: Lots of craigslist perusing for jobs that allowed me the flexibility to work odd hours and from various locations.
Passion jobs: Creating obsessively and constantly because it’s the only way I know how to survive and it’s the only thing I’ve ever wanted with an insatiable thirst.
Are you paid doing what you love? If not, what would you like to be paid to do?
Sometimes! And those are the BEST! Occasionally I get a month here and there where I get to mostly JUST create and there is nothing greater in my opinion. My ultimate goal is to create/showrun/write and star in a tv show (like Lena Dunham, Louis C.K., Issa Ray, the Broad City babes, etc.) I would love to JUST do all of that.
Current project(s):
We just released Seek Help (a webseries). I wrote/directed/produced/acted/edited Seek Help with a great group of people (Jonathan Stratman, Michael Watterson, Kate Pennington, Lisa Murphy, Sarah Wiggin, Kolyn Marshall, Kristian Jett, and Jordan Essary). So, now it’s promote, promote, promote mode to try to get eyes on it. And I’m trying to figure out if logistically we can make a second season happen. I am also in the process of editing my art and poetry book Let’s Talk which will be released later this year.
What are you reading/listening to/watching/making:
I don’t really have much time to read anything not related to work stuff.
When I’m working I’m usually listening to Amazon Prime playlists (love that old school jazz). I’ve also been rocking out to Alice Russell, Erykah Badu, Florence & the Machine, and Chet Faker.
I’m always watching TV, even just in the background when I’m working at home. The Office is my “office.” Fraiser is my bedtime story. I recently binged Shameless and, like everyone else, The Keepers. I love stand-up specials and true crime documentaries…that’s my emotional entertainment equivalent of a sweet & salty snack.
I’m usually always painting, drawing and/or writing something on any given day. Right now I’m into making large spray paint abstract and figurative paintings, ink line drawing portraits. I’m also working on a few scripts, and editing my poetry/art book.
How do you express yourself creatively? Painting, writing, acting, playing music, etc.
Have you ever written a fan letter? If so, to whom? Haha! I did! When I was about 8 years old I wrote a fan letter to Jonathan Taylor Thomas and included a truly embarrassing picture of myself. I did NOT receive a response.
Drink of choice?  Water. Staying hydrated is the number 1 rule for living. If there is no water, vodka will do.
Who inspires you, and why?
Oh my. The list is long! Lena Dunham: She did what I want to do to and she did it with a body like mine in an industry that notoriously pretends bodies like that don’t and shouldn’t exist except as a punchline or project. In all honesty, this had a huge impact on my life. I literally grew up believing that women that weren’t Hollywood-thin couldn’t be loved or seen as sexy or be successful or happy…obviously that was a pretty damaging belief and one that needs to stop being promoted as fact in our society.
Miranda July: She’s also an obsessive creative weirdo like me and I just love everything she does!
Josh Thomas: His show Please Like Me is the perfect balance of comedy and drama. It’s just perfect! And he’s another creator/writer/actor type.
I mean, Louis C.K., Issa Ray, Shonda Rhymes, Jenji Kohan, Judd Apatow, George Saunders, Mindy Kaling, Aziz Ansari, Maria Bamford, Marc Maron, Egon Schiele, Tina Fey, Amy Pohler, etc. As I said, I could go on and on!
Favorite tool to stay productive (for example, a set of watercolors, a specific planner or app, an exercise program…)
I write a lot of to-do lists and promptly lose them. I’ve bought a lot of planners and calendar/schedules with great enthusiasm only to abandon them completely a week later. It’s strange because I am very strict with time when I am working on a film project and as a writer I set deadlines and follow them. But in my daily life–when I’ve tried to schedule out blocks for this job/that job and this project/that project and eating and working out and cleaning, etc. I just get entirely overwhelmed and don’t do anything. I think because I’m juggling so many balls all the time, if I see all those balls laid out it’s just debilitating. But if I just wake up and start doing things, and go from one to the other by whim, it feels more “free.” Of course, I also end up neglecting a lot of things that way, most usually my health/house and well-being, but someday I’ll figure it all out! Or not!
Honestly, I have more tools in place for being less-productive. To wind myself down I take a lot of baths (sometimes more than one a day or night to calm down) and I listen to this Scottish dude’s meditation app “Positivity” and I sniff essential oils.
 
Something you have learned this year?
No one knows anything, everything is doomed. Haha JK-ish. I mean, I have felt like that a lot this year…but I guess to state a more positive lesson: Anything is possible–of course, that goes both ways (positive and negative). This year I’ve struggled a lot with starting to believe the “negative” things–the things I might not achieve in life that I always thought I would (both in my career and personal live), but now, at 31 years old, it’s all starting to feel a lot more unlikely. So, I’m learning how to keep going when your hope is fatigued into near non-existence.
What can people do to make the world a better place?
Be kind!
Actively seek out points of view that make you feel uncomfortable and try to put yourself in their position.
Surround yourself (in social media and in real life) with people from all walks of life, in all types of bodies (shape, size, color, ability level)–don’t let the only images you see of people be bought and paid for to sell you products to improve yourself. You are absolutely enough just exactly as you are–you are worthy of love, respect, and kindness.
Tell people how you feel about them often–if you think something nice about someone, always tell them.
Give everyone the benefit of the doubt and accept that everyone’s life has influenced how they react in any situation.
Be patient with people and always keep the lines of communication open for those you love.
If you feel alone and you don’t want to be, reach out to others–others often feel lonely too.
How can people find you?
www.andiebottrell.com; www.seekhelpthewebseries.com; Facebook (Andie Bottrell); Instagram (andiebottrell); Twitter (andiebottrell); www.andiebottrell.etsy.com; Youtube (Andie Bottrell); Vimeo (Andie Bottrell).
Leave a Reply

