Q&A with Krista P.

18698166_10154423925747484_3780362390184252442_n

Krista has a full, crazy, and colorful life. Every time I see her, she has a new successful project under her belt, whether it’s writing for MAKE Magazine, spearheading a tech-education non-profit, or constantly making something new to wear or display. Stop by Bookmarx in Springfield throughout July to see her first solo art exhibit, featuring whimsical and edgy cross-stitching and fiber arts!

1. Name: Krista Peryer

2. Current City: Springfield, MO

3. What did you want to be when you grew up?

So many different things! I think as a kid we all kind of go through that, but as I got older mine seemed all over the place! (A choreography dancer, an architect, a fashion designer, a model, a lawyer…) Haha, I guess that kind of is still true for me though. I still want to, and do, SO many different things!

4. What are you now?

A fiber artist, a mommy, co-founder and board member of a new Springfield non-profit The Geek Foundation, occasional writer for Make Magazine, a graphic designer, a photographer, a fashionista, personal stylist, an interior designer by nature, and a floral designer when I have time. I also hope to get more into pottery and sewing soon!

5. How did you get to this point?

The natural designer in me is inherent. My father never went to college, but is an amazing contractor on homes. He just has an eye for it. My mom also never went to college either, but she designs some amazing cakes! My kids are very lucky to have her every year on their birthdays!

6. Are you paid doing what you love? If not, what would you like to be paid to do?

I sell my fiber art projects on Etsy, and my graphic designs on Redbubble, for fun. I hope to eventually do some craft and art shows!

7. Current project:

I have a wide range of projects going from cross-stitching, to crochet, to latch-hooking, and there is currently a lovely bouquet of flowers sitting on my counter waiting to be arranged. My friend also recently bought a house, which I’m helping design! So much fun!

8. What are you reading/listening to/watching/making:

Currently reading The Signature of All Things by Sarah Gilbert, and recently got hooked on Better Homes & Gardens “Do It Yourself” magazine. How did I not know this existed before?! I love it!
As for TV, I generally only watch HGTV and other home shows (I love Home Town!), but I recently got hooked on Project Runway and I CAN. NOT. STOP! I started on season 9 because it was the first season available on Hulu, and I’m hoooooked.

9. How do you express yourself creatively? Creating new fun things with yarn, my computer, or nature!

10. Have you ever written a fan letter? If so, to whom? No, can’t say that I ever have….

11. Drink of choice? Good ol’ H2O is my go-to drink these days. But Lola’s in Nixa makes some amazing fruit teas, and sometimes I’ll make a trip out there just for one. (Welllll, there food is seriously top-notch too!)

12. Who inspires you, and why?

Artists from the past of all mediums. Ansel Adams piqued my passion for photography. Roy Lichtenstein made me passionate about art and comics. Andy Warhol made me passionate about bright colors. They both created my favorite kind of art: pop art. Architects who built the lovely buildings here in Springfield on C-Street and downtown made me passionate about living here. There is beauty and inspiration all around us if we just pay attention.

13. Favorite tool to stay productive (for example, a set of watercolors, a specific planner or app, an exercise program…):  Looking at Ravelry (www.ravelry.com) each day gets my creativity flowing. I love that site! So many talented people out there.

14. Something you have learned this year?

I taught myself how to latch-hook and cross-stitch this year. I plan to start sewing clothing in the near future too. I also hope to get back into pottery, learn macrame and weaving, and even quilting at some point in my life, too. I like to keep my mind busy being creative!

15. How can people find you?

On Etsy – A Wooly Mouse www.etsy.com/shop/AWoolyMouse

Red Bubble – www.redbubble.com/people/kristaperyer
The Geek Foundation – www.thegeekfoundation.org
Make Magazine Author Page – http://makezine.com/author/kristaperyer/

16. What can people do to make the world a better place? Try to love more than hate.

17. Brag about yourself. It’s okay. If you don’t, I will.

I’m still pretty new to this being-an-artist thing as I just started crocheting last year as something to do to keep my mind busy after being diagnosed with a life-changing disease. That disease also affects my hands and other joints pretty badly and has dramatically changed my life in a short period, but, I am so incredibly thankful for my creative mind that always has new ideas flowing, and a never-ending thirst for learning.

Leave a Reply

