The Big Show

IMG_7553

“The Big Show” at the Springfield-Branson Regional Airport’s Sky Gallery was literally my biggest artistic opportunity to date. A handful of local artists were selected to display a piece with at least one side measuring 48 inches, in a medium of their choice. The curator of the show decided to pair my painting with two of my twin sister Stephanie’s quilts (The Lady in Thread), another amazing first for both of us.

Stephanie is a modern quilter, who takes traditional design concepts and updates them through color, material, subject matter, and pattern. In The Big Show, she decided to do her take on the “Missouri Star,” using a traditional color palette (on the left side) and then with her modern scrappy interpretation (on the right side). I love the end result, with my piece in the middle. It looks like a whimsical animal watching over the baggage claim.

IMG_7540

These are detail shots from my painting, “Adventuring in the chartless seas of imagination,” which is inspired by a recent trip to Gulf Shores, Alabama, and by the book “Gift from the Sea” by Anne M. Lindbergh.

IMG_7509

Not quite finished, but almost. I had a lot of fun working on this painting, using a familiar color palette and shapes found in many of my pieces. The size was a challenge, as I usually work on 18×24 canvas or smaller. I learned a lot and am excited to work on bigger surfaces more often.

The show is up until the end of August, so if you are in the area and are traveling, make sure to stop by and check out the show. The pieces are located throughout the airport lobby, not just in the center gallery. My painting is available for purchase through the Springfield Regional Arts Council.

Leave a Reply

