100 Words or Less

In all my attempts at creativity, lately, I found that the most enjoyable challenge is writing as short as story as possible. I recently submitted a story to Springfield Arts Fest, where the guidelines were to write a story in 100 words or less. Here is what I submitted:

 

“Drink this, it’ll ease your stomach.”

He eyeballed the honey-colored tea she placed in front of him. Something was floating in the steaming liquid. Garlic maybe? Pepper?

“It’s ginger and…a few spices,” she said. “Drink.”

He raised the mug to his lips and took a sip. Not bad, he thought. He finished the whole cup in just seconds, surprised at the spicy kick burning down his throat. He coughed.

“What are you trying to do, kill me?” He laughed.

“Actually, yes,” she said.

His body suddenly felt like it was on fire as the mug fell from his hands.

 

Next up, let’s see if I can write one in TEN words or less. Shout out to my friend and writing group partner Ingrid, for winning last year’s Gotham Writer’s competition. Looks like my competition is fierce!

 

3 thoughts on “100 Words or Less

Leave a Reply

