Friday Reads: Guilty Pleasures

I had lunch with a friend recently, and I always love hearing what she’s reading. She has two tween boys and keeps up with their interests, like the Percy Jackson series. When I asked what she was reading, she said she was too embarrassed to tell me.

Ooh, I love books that are too embarrassing to admit reading. I finally got it out of her, saw it was FREE for my Kindle, and immediately downloaded it.

mmansino

Marblestone Mansion: The Scandalous Duchess Series.

It’s a quick read, my Kindle estimated about 6 hours total. The series is meant for young adults, so it’s fairly harmless and not very sexy (is this a good or bad thing?), with a plot that moves at just enough pace to keep me guessing. I’m halfway through, and can’t necessarily recommend it with gusto, but I can’t also NOT recommend it. I’m having fun so far. I keep saying things out loud, like, “Ooh, Sassy, are you a spy!?” and “Oh come on, just punch him already!” (In my old age, I find I talk to my books a lot…)

I’m hoping to finish it tonight and attempt something with more depth, like The Luminaries. That’s why these quick flirty reads are so fun. Finishing a book is always such a rewarding experience for me, that when I read that last page, I’m ready for the next one. So the quicker the book, the more energy I have to start another.

What are you reading? What’s your biggest guilty pleasure lately?

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads: Guilty Pleasures

  1. Erin says:

    I Started reading another Augusten Burroughs book this last week but haven’t really gotten into it yet. I have taken a reading hiatus and can’t seem to get back in the groove.

    As far as guilty pleasure, I don’t have many. I am a snobby snob-snob and usually only read memoirs and non fiction.

Leave a Reply

