Pop Culture Catch Up – October

Watching:

  • As many movies as I can, specifically at The Moxie. I love love loved IN A WORLD. So original, funny, charming, and I actually had to hold myself back from clapping (I hate it when people applaud in the movies. THE ACTORS CAN’T HEAR YOU!). Go see it!
  • I also saw recently PRINCE AVALANCHE. I have mixed thoughts on this. I love Paul Rudd. I love David Gordon Green. I can’t stand Emile Hirsch. And even though he was good in the movie, he’s not a good actor, so it was even more obvious next to Paul Rudd, who really stood out as a pathetic non-committal man who thinks he’s someone bigger and better than he is. It was a sad movie, and the humor was sad, but the majority of the audience laughed like it was a raunchy Judd Apatow film. Kind of ruined it.
  • Speaking of Judd Apatow. Earlier this summer, Dan and I finished FREAKS AND GEEKS on Netflix. It is by far the best TV series ever created. Ever. Hands down. Nothing can compare, nothing is better. So how to follow up on that? I just can’t. I’m still depressed that we watched it so quickly and there’s no turning back. It’s done. It’s gone. I’m depressed.
  • To cheer me up, I’ll watch WINGS instead. Yes. You read that correctly. The 90s sitcom set in a Nantucket airport. WINGS.

READING:

  • A lot of writing books. BIRD BY BIRD by Anne Lamott. Ray Bradbury’s ZEN IN THE ART OF WRITING. Both are inspiring and serve as cheer leaders for me during my creative writing process. I can’t believe the strides I’ve made while taking Lamott’s advice.
  • Literary journals. I’m trying to get a head’s up on what’s out there right now. So, THE MISSOURI REVIEW, THE PARIS REVIEW…they’re not page turners, but it’s nice to have a change of pace.
  • And of course, kid book after kid book after kid book. Have you read Oliver Jeffers? He’s fun.

LISTENING TO:

  • Can’t get enough of Lorde. Who can’t, though? Guiltily, I’ll admit, Miley Cyrus, too. As much as I don’t like her personality, her music is catchy and fun. I just can’t help singing along.
  • A week doesn’t go by where I don’t put on Justin Townes Earle. He just makes my heart swoon. Specifically the album “Harlem River Blues,” which I’ve been listening to regularly for two years now. And his rendition of “Can’t Hardly Wait” makes my playlist rotation daily.
  • OCEAN DREAMS is a nightly listen. I originally purchased this album (ok, cassette tape) in the 90s, at the earthy store Natural Wonders at the mall. It supposedly is recorded using soothing soundwaves that causes relaxation. Hippy dippy or the truth, I don’t care, it works. My kids start snoring away within ten minutes of listening, and I immediately go into loosey goosey mode. Plus, it’s whales and dolphins and harpsichord and flute. What’s not to love?

How about you? Recommendations for moi?

5 thoughts on “Pop Culture Catch Up – October

    • Nicole says:

      I need to add this. Especially with THAT endorsement! When are you coming to book club!? Wed Oct 23 @ Mud Lounge. We’re reading Steve Yates “Some Kinds of Love.” It’s a collection of short stories, I *think* the author is local? He might be there.

  1. Erin says:

    Paul Rudd…
    Swoon.

    I bought bird by bird a few years ago… No clue why… And it has been on my bookshelf since. Is it worth reading even if you care less about writing?

    • Nicole says:

      Hmm. I’m not sure. So far it’s heavy on the “how to be a better writer” side, but it might help with just creativity in general. I’m reading it very slowly, like, a chapter a month. I want to savor her advice!

Leave a Reply

