Friday Reads: Recently Finished

First off, to any of you local readers, The Book Castle is closing in January, so if you need to find books at a good price, check there first. I *finally* got a copy of Blonde by Joyce Carol Oates. Our library doesn’t have it, Amazon’s used prices always seemed too high, and it’s not on Kindle. But guess what, my local brick-and-mortar bookstore had it! And a hardcover for only $5 too. Huzzah! Can’t wait to start this massive beast.

{this is a way cooler cover than the one I found…}

This past week I finished two books, both enjoyable and quick reads.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

There were fun moments in this book. It’s a page-turner and good weekend read, but that’s about the best I can say for it. I’m not sure I care for this narrator style, which is of a young 20-something guy, extremely casual, and explaining things to the last teeny tiny detail. It’s science-fiction/fantasty, people! You don’t have to do that! Let the reader figure out things for themselves! It reminded me so much of READY PLAYER ONE, which I didn’t like. At all. The plot in both of these books had soooo much potential, but the amateurish writing style made it harder to enjoy. Still, if you need something fun, both PENUMBRA and PLAYER are good picks. Just be prepared to roll your eyes at a lot of the character’s actions and dialogue.

Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspeare

MAISIE DOBBS was not what I was expecting, but I loved it all the same. When I heard this was about a post-WW1 nurse-turned-detective, I guess I imagined a plucky heroine, and not a stiff, emotionally suppressed, almost-psychic 30-year-old. And what started as a case of infidelity ended up into something much darker. And by the end I was a snotty crying mess. This was definitely a book that kept me guessing and defied my expectations, and for that I think I love it. It’s just the first in a series of 100 (not really that many, but it seems like it), and each cover is as cool as the next. I’ll definitely be adding more of these to my reading list.

The rest of the month I think I’m going to take a break and focus on creating. But just in case, I checked out two young adult novels from the library that I can pick up in between sketches and paper crafts.

What are you reading? Any successes?

Leave a Reply

