Friday Reads: Blonds in Boots Blog

There’s this Yoga exercise I recently learned, and it’s a life changer. I’m not sure what it’s called, but let’s say “The Crowbar.” I’m not going to even try to explain how to start the pose, because if you tried it based on my directions, you’d probably end up on the floor with a twisted back muscle. So let me just tell you what happens during the exercise:

I intertwine my arms above my head, so that one hand is grabbing the other, then I pretend to hold a crowbar and dig at the tension in my back. I take that crowbar and reach high into my back, stretching all the way to the ceiling; I let every muscle relax and go limp like a rag doll, but still digging away at that hard-to-reach-spot that aches after a day of chasing tiny children. I dig and pry and loosen every muscle with this imaginary crowbar, and it feels amazing when I’m finished. It feels amazing while I’m doing it, too.

The key to this exercise, I’ve found, is the visualization. I’ve done it enough times now that I notice when I’m not focusing on the imagery of the crowbar, or what I’m chipping away at, the results are just meh. But when I really get into the exercise, the results are crazy. Tonight, after a tense week, I took an alarmingly hot shower and did this Yoga move underneath the showerhead. Aside from hitting my head on the ceramic soap holder, it was a great experience. I really envisioned that crowbar, and I pictured what I was chopping away. It was stress and tension and too much cake and not enough fluids and sick toddlers and no caffeine and monthly bills and anxiety and news that my friend is sick.

I left the shower feeling amazing, or at least, more amazing than when I entered (and I’ve been feeling pretty crummy since my flu shot on Wednesday). Again, the key is the visualization at what I’m chopping away.

The power of positive thinking is something I strongly believe in. I know it works, and this little Yoga exercise is just one tiny way to prove that it does.

Having said all that, I’m confident that my friend who found out she’s sick will soon find out that she’s healthy again. I’ve spent countless hours this week sending good thoughts and prayers. I know her family and friends are all doing the same. She’s a lucky gal to have so many people in her life that care about her, but then again, she’s easy to care about because she’s AWESOME.

If you’re a reader of my blog, chances are, you know my friend. She’s written about her week on her own blog, Blondes in Boots, so if you want to read her upcoming challenges, click here (Part 1) and here (Part 2), and send her some positive vibes, prayers, or Good Luck wishes. I’m specifically envisioning positive test results, and us having a girls weekend in Chicago soon.

Thanks all, and hope you have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

