Friday Reads: Some Favorites

I talk to my sister multiple times a day, every day, for as long as we have been able to talk. And today I learned something I had never known: we both are suckers for books set in Appalachia. Is there a term for this specific genre? Because I’ve read quite a few books that take place in West Virginia / Virginia / Tennessee, and have fallen in love with every one. I’m not sure what it is about them – the folksy romanticized small town setting? The strong women portrayed in the story? The memory of road trips growing up through the mountains? Who knows.

Neither of us had read each others favorite, hers being The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls.

Mine is a toss up, between Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier, or Fair and Tender Ladies by Lee Smith. But, I think I’ll have to choose Fair and Tender Ladies, because not only is it set in Appalachia, but it’s also told through a series of letters, which is my other favorite sub-genre. Appalachia + Epistolary = WIN.

One thought on “Friday Reads: Some Favorites

Leave a Reply

