Friday Reads: For the Birds (and Llamas, and Racoons)

If it were up to me and our finances, I would be buying a new book for my kids every day. Maybe two or three a day. There are so many great ones out there. But alas, I’ll just use the library, and hope they don’t come with any more toddler germs than our house already can handle!

Today I picked up (many of these on recommendation from my friend Beth, a former bookstore owner and current mom, so you know her word is good):

Llama Llama Mad at Mama

The Kissing Hand

Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late

And lately we’ve been enjoying:

I Love You All Day Long – Bought this one to help with pre-school. Jasper was having a rough transition and didn’t like it when I left, and since he responds well to books, I wanted to find one that let him know I thought about him while we were apart. This seems to do the trick, because he mimics the boy pig at the end of the story when I pick him up. Awwww.

13 Words by Lemony Snicket – A Silly Absurd book that I randomly picked up at the library while J & I were recovering from the stomach flu earlier this winter. Lots of pretty pictures of cake. Not sure if that helps ease stomach discomfort or not…

Eins Zwei Drei Tier – a clever German vocab book that one of my former staff members picked up while studying in Germany. It was a gift for J’s first birthday, but he’s just now noticing it. Dan and I are translating it, but it’s fun to read in a German accent.

Any you’d recommend, or remember from childhood that you liked? The two-year-old is really getting into longer stories, because if it’s just picture books he tries to play a game where he points to each image, names it, and then yells “BWAANNNGGGGGG!,” like he just won a prize on a game show. And then about falls over laughing. Every. Single. Picture.

The 6-month old (who is six months old today! And is getting her first tooth!) doesn’t care what the book is, as long as she can fit it in her mouth.

3 thoughts on “Friday Reads: For the Birds (and Llamas, and Racoons)

  1. LFro says:

    I loved these series of books that were tall tales illustrated by Tim Raglin and came with a read-along cassette. They were read by celebrities, but really good ones. Jack Nicholson read How the Rhinoceros Got His Skin and Robin Williams read Pecos Bill (that one made me laugh until I cried when I was kid). They were made by a company called Rabbit Ears productions and are hard to find now. I need to try and hunt some of them down. Some of my earliest reading memories comes from those stories.

    • Nicole says:

      Oh my gosh, my sister and I loved those! We had How the Camel Got his Hump, and How the Rhinoceros Got His Skin. I think Jeremy Irons read one of them…Thanks for bringing back such a good memory, those have completely fallen off my radar.

Leave a Reply

