Friday Reads: First Book Finished of 2012!

Have you ever thought that if a celebrity ever met you, that you would really be just the best of friends? I joke about this with Paul Rudd and Jon Hamm, but who am I kidding? I just want to look at them. But after reading Mindy Kaling’s new book of essays, I’m convinced: we would be best friends.

{image via Goodreads}

Body image issues and shopping aside, she said things that were 100% me: listening to Graceland makes her cry. Me too! She’s never had a one-night-stand but loves hearing about her friends? Hey! I do that! And her childhood and teen years were beyond awkward. I would not let her down with stories of the lists that *I* keep in *my* wallet (she carried around her favorite comedic moments…I carried around books and movie information). So how does one contact a celebrity to try and befriend them? Hmm.

The book itself started out strong, and I loved reading about how she got her start in Hollywood. The last third was a little weak, but I still had fun and laughed out loud multiple times. It was a quick read, I think I read it in three sittings, about 30 minutes per setting. I bet the audio version would be fun to hear her take on it.

It’s fun starting the year off with a quick read. I think I’m hooked: I’m reading memoirs ALL YEAR LONG. Rob Lowe? Marilyn Monroe? Portia DeRossi? Sounds good to me.

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads: First Book Finished of 2012!

Leave a Reply

