Using my Noodle

Spaghetti noodles, to be exact.

I’ve been experimenting with new recipes this winter, and one of my favorites lately has been “peanutty noodles” from The Family Dinner cookbook by Laurie David (don’t even get me started on how awesome this cookbook is…you can read more about it on Cinco Style instead).

The recipe has an asian-inspired peanut butter sauce with noodles, and then the fun part is adding all your toppings. I discovered, through the recipe, that diced apples and peanut thai noodles are a delicious combination. Who would have thought?

After making it three times, Dan fessed up and said he doesn’t particularly care for the peanut sauce, but likes the taste and texture of all the toppings with noodles. So tonight I thought I’d experiment and make a garlic sauce as the base instead.

Verdict was: a success! And much lighter than the peanut sauce. Here’s what I did:

Gather supplies:

  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • vegetable oil
  • sauce (see recipe below)
  • 1/2 pound spaghetti noodles
  • toppings, put in little bowls (also below)

In a small bowl I mixed:

  • 2 T sugar
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 2 T white wine vinegar (I didn’t have rice vinegar)
  • a splash (definitely less than 1/2 a teaspoon) of sesame oil (that stuff is potent)
  • a few shakes of red pepper flakes
  • a few shakes of powdered ginger

In a wok I heated some vegetable oil on medium heat, and added 4 cloves of chopped garlic. I sauteed until it was fragrant, about 30 seconds. Then I added the sauce to the wok, let it boil for a few seconds, stirred it, and added a half pound of cooked, rinsed, and drained spaghetti noodles. Those were stir fried for a few minutes with the sauce, then transferred to bowls for our dining enjoyment. I would have fried them a bit longer, maybe a good 5 more minutes on high, but we were hungry and impatient. Add a bunch of fresh toppings for a satisfying and healthy meal!

Here are some topping ideas:

  • chopped peanuts
  • cucumber slices (use a vegetable peeler)
  • shredded cabbage (we use a broccoli/carrot/cabbage cole slaw mix)
  • shredded carrots
  • lime wedges
  • cilantro

I’ll probably experiment a bit more with the sauce. It was a little more sweet and not as garlicky as I wanted, but it was still pretty darn good, if I say so myself. It will definitely go in my recipe rotation, and as a vegetarian fallback on Meatless Mondays.

Leave a Reply

