Food, Glorious Food

Let’s end this year with a whole weekend of feasting. I managed to gain 35 pounds and lose 37, so why not, right? Here’s what I’m contributing* to the Christmas celebrations:

Friday

  • Spinach & Artichoke Dip (from my friend Kelley’s recipe)
  • Beef Stew  (inspired by that same Kelley’s recipe that Dan about dies for)

Saturday

  • Crumble Apple Pie (from my staff member Jonathan’s Mom’s recipe)
  • Pumpkin Bread (from my friend Melissa’s Mom’s recipe)

Sunday

  • Belgian waffles with Banana Maple Syrup (from Cooking for Baby cookbook)
  • Mimosas (simple recipe: splash of orange juice, a whole lotta champagne…right?)
  • Bacon (I actually have no idea how to make bacon)
  • Baklava (I need to search online for a recipe. None of my cookbooks have one!)
  • Chocolate Gingerbread Cake (Nigella Lawson’s recipe)
  • Simon & Garfunkel Corn (inspired by a side dish at Addison’s in Columbia)
  • Roasted Pear & Apple sauce (Barefoot Contessa’s recipe)

And to detox on Monday? Well, by eating Stephanie’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles and Chocolate-Covered Oreos, of course.

*if you want any of the recipes, let me know and I’ll email them to you!

**MERRY CHRISTMAS / HAPPY HANUKKAH / WHAT HAVE YOU! Be Safe and Eat Lots!

***What did you make? Will you share one of your recipes in the comments section?

4 thoughts on “Food, Glorious Food

  1. Missy Wade says:

    My mom made Baklava and printed off the recipe for all you girls a couple of weeks ago when we had craft time… You didn’t get a copy? I think her’s is a Martha Stewart recipe, from the website. It’s good!!

    I don’t think I’m making a single thing this weekend! I’ll probably at least make puppy chow because I always do. I just follow the recipe on the box. However, I tweak it a little. I like each chex to be covered with all the goodness! The recipe calls for 9 cups of chex. I use the entire box (which I think is around 12 cups), and then I double everything else. This assures extra chocolatey, peanut buttery, powdered sugary pieces:)

    • Nicole says:

      Mmm, that was sooo good, the baklava your Mom made. I told Dan about it, but he wanted traditional style. I’ll have to make the apple/pear kind sometime in the future.

      Can’t go wrong with double chocolatey puppy chow. Mmmmmmm.

  2. melissa says:

    Nigella was on NPR one morning talking about her holiday drink- the Poinsettia. Bottle of Prosecco, 2 cups Cranberry Juice and 1/2 cup Cointreau. That’s what I’m making for Christmas!

    • Nicole says:

      Sounds good to me! How did they turn out? I’ll have to try one soon.
      Although, now I have about 100 new recipes to try, thanks to my new bubbly book you got me! Yippee!

Leave a Reply

