Ribbons and Bows

Remember the anticipation of opening presents on Christmas? My sister and I would constantly rearrange the packages under the tree, making them look most appealing. We’d count how many we had, look for new ones, and guess what what wrapped inside. Our absolute favorite part of Christmas was waking up super early (4am? 5am?) and seeing what Santa brought us in our stocking. Usually it was the same thing: a giant candy cane, a piece of fruit, a small trinket, and something amazing that only Santa could bring: a bubble gum machine, a Nintendo, roller skates…

Ah, the memories. That magical anticipation has completely disappeared, and in the past ten years or so, gift giving seems like the least important element of Christmas. In fact, most years Dan and I don’t even do a whole lot for each other (ok, last year he did get me some pretty amazing art work), which is ok. But now that I have a kid who is starting to enjoy *doing* things more than just sitting around and babbling, it’s been so much fun for Dan and me to pick out presents he’d like (books, coloring books, dinosaur figurines) and play the role of Santa.

Earlier I was trying to think of ways to not place such an emphasis on gift giving at Christmas time. There are fun things to do, activities that can be saved just for this time of year, but really, from a kid’s point of view, isn’t the best part the presents? It’s going to be a tough balancing act, and I’d love to hear how or what other parents do for their kids this time of year. But I’m not going to lie. I’ve re-created some of the excitement and magic of Christmas that I lost by getting gifts for my children, so the balance might be *slightly* tipped in favor of opening gifts. But just slightly. I hope.

2 thoughts on “Ribbons and Bows

  1. whit says:

    I was just saying to Timmy last night that I am more excited for this xmas than I have been in years. It is amazing watching Alfie experience it. I mean, I didn’t really give two craps about decorated houses, but Alfie loves every single one even if it is just a string of lights. So I find myself taking different routes home just to check out a lighted house I spied down the block…even when I am alone!

    • Nicole says:

      Aww. That’s so cute! We’ve been driving around a lot looking at lights as a “get-out-of-the-house” activity. Sometimes Jasper likes it, but usually he could care less.

      Poor Maggie has one present: a hair brush.

Leave a Reply

