Chore Charts

According to my weekly ‘how-to-raise-your-child’ email, I should be focusing on having my toddler help with chores. Supposedly, toddlers LOVE to help around the house. Obviously the people writing these emails haven’t met Jasper…

But I guess that’s not a totally fair statement. He does really enjoy picking up stray bits of dog food. However, to get the stray bits, usually it means he takes the dog’s bowl (which still has food in it), dumps it out, and tries to wear it as a hat. (This goes for his laundry basket full of toys, or really any bucket or box, whether he can see through it or not.)

So, I think I’m going to have to start simply. I found this chart online:

Toddler Chore Chart from dandee-designs.com

I like it because it’s meant for children around 2-3 years old, so the tasks are easy to comprehend. Of course, I think I’ll alter mine a bit, and replace a dog bone with the bed, since he still sleeps in a crib. But otherwise, I think Jasper will really like it. When he’s older, I can’t wait to make this version:

Chore Jar from Whatever Dee-Dee Wants

This chore jar is beyond amazing. It makes even me want to do some chores around the house. Now only to get around to making it…

 

6 thoughts on “Chore Charts

  1. Jamie says:

    I just read a book called “Children who do too little” about kids doing chores. I’ll email you the list of age appropriate chores for Jasper.

  2. Jamie says:

    It was a great book. Talked about different parenting styles and how we dont let our kids do enough because of time crunches. Also interesting to think about preparing our kids for adulthood, needing to know how to clean toilets as well as weed whack.

    • Nicole says:

      Haha, those are pretty cool looking! Now that I have a kitchen big enough for two people, I might have to look for one…

  3. Stephanie says:

    Our big chores for the kids are for them (ok, just Sophia) to put dishes in the kitchen. I don’t care where, just so she knows they go in there. Also, we clean their rooms before bed every night. It’s become a ritual and she won’t sleep if it is messy. She gets that from her father.

Leave a Reply

