Looking Back: October 2009

Each month I like to flip through some of my old journals to see what was going on that time of the year. October 2009 was an interesting time in our life: Jasper had yet to be born, and we were babysitting our niece Sophia for a weekend. I wrote,

At one point during the weekend (it was Friday night), I started crying because I didn’t know if I could handle the responsibility. I thought to myself, ‘On Monday, our life will be back to normal.’ And when it hit me that the normal I know will only last a couple more months, I panicked!”

Interestingly enough, I’m in the same boat, two years later. Three weeks in to having a second child, the other night I panicked when I realized, WE HAVE TWO KIDS!!!

But here’s the next sentence in that particular journal entry:

“But by Sunday night, I didn’t want to take Sophia back to her parents! I had so much fun snuggling with her, giggling, learning, and watching her grow.”

So while the panic hasn’t necessarily gone away completely (I mean, I HAVE TWO KIDS NOW!), I know that in a few weeks from now, this will be old hat and I won’t be able to imagine life any other way.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Looking Back: October 2009

  1. Stephanie says:

    Awww.

    And then you’ll be writing posts next year how your two kids are driving you absolutely crazy and you wish they were back to being newborns and not mobile.

Leave a Reply

