30 Days

This summer sucked. Between the heat wave and being uncomfortably pregnant, I became super lazy. Instead of letting Jasper blow bubbles and chase them outside, we did it in the cool confines of our basement. Instead of taking walks to the park, we drove to Aunt Stephanie’s and ate frozen pizza. And instead of letting him explore nature, we watched Dinosaur Train.

I promised myself this would change once Baby #2 arrived. But with recovery so slow-going, I need an extra push. And I found it in a TED Talk that Dan and I watched the other night. In it, the speaker Matt Cutts, says he started to try something new for 30 days, based on a theory by his favorite modern day philosopher Morgan Spurlock. Cutts gave up sugar, he climbed a mountain, he wrote a novel, rode his bike to work, etc. (The whole talk is less than four minutes, so you should definitely watch it!)

It got Dan and me thinking about what we could do for 30 days. I’d like to implement something every month throughout 2011 and 2012, and hope the monthly challenge becomes a lifelong habit. To start with, Dan’s planning on giving up sugared beverages in October, and I’m going to make sure I take my kids outside every day, rain or shine (well, not torrential rain…). I’m not even setting the outside limits that high – just a few minutes to an hour, depending on the day. The task seems so simple, yet daunting at the same time. Wish me luck – I’m going to need it!

Other ideas for future challenges include: writing a novel (November), taking a picture every day, stop eating fast food, exercise of some sort, and doing an extra chore every day. This should be exciting!

3 thoughts on “30 Days

  1. Stephanie says:

    We have made it 28 days so far of not using our credit card. We’re going to do it every other month and see what we can really live without.

    • Nicole says:

      That’s a good one. I was thinking of doing a “no splurge” month, where I don’t buy Starbucks or etsy purchases. But…those things bring me joy, and who wants to deny JOY?

Leave a Reply

