Cloth Diapering

A few months before having my second child, I decided to decrease my landfill input and start cloth diapering. My rules for it were this:

  1. If I could do just three-to-five diapers a week (which would be about one day’s worth, not counting nap time or overnight), that would be worth it to me. Every bit counts, right?
  2. I would not make my husband participate, since he is adamant against cloth diapering.
  3. I would not spend over $200 on the investment, since my reasoning was for environmental impact rather than financial impact. And really, come on. $200 is a lot of money!
  4. I can talk about cloth diapering and be excited about it, but try to limit the Crazy.

So, I researched and researched and researched, and finally bit the bullet. Strangely, the person who encouraged me the most to go ahead with the purchase? My husband (see bullet point #2).

Here’s what I bought:

  1. Six FUZZIBUNZ One-size Pocket diapers in gender neutral
  2. a really awesome wet bag
  3. hemp baby wipes (because if I’m going to put dirty diapers in a wet bag, might as well throw in the wipes as well!)
  4. flushable liners (they’re gauzy strips that go over the diaper to make waste disposal easier and less messy)
  5. a spray bottle and witch hazel (to wet the cloth wipes)
  6. a giant bottle of Seventh Generation free and clear laundry detergent

So far I’ve used the cloth diapers about 20 times, which comes out to about $10 a diaper. Insane, I know. Getting the fit to work on an active toddler has been a challenge, but other than that, the process is not much more different than using disposables (TMI here, but I empty disposable diapers into the toilet to avoid stinky trash cans). I think once the second baby is about 3 months old, I’ll be using them more on her than on Jasper.

I’ve been really happy so far, with just two cons being the challenging fit for a toddler, and they don’t hold as much as a disposable, so I have to change them every 2-3 hours as opposed to every 4-5 with disposable. But since I’m using the washing machine for diapers only during that particular load, I’d rather fill it than run it with just a couple inside. Washing them isn’t a hassle, but it does take a while (rinse first on cold, then wash on hot, then rinse and spin, then dry on low).

A grainy iPhone photo of J in his first cloth diaper experience.

I’ve always been an “Earth-Day-is-Every-Day” kind of gal, but having children really put things into perspective more. The environmental impact of kids is insane, and I want to make sure they have enough resources growing up, as well as their children, and their children, and on and on. So while I could probably be doing more, I’m glad I’ve made a small impact with cloth diapering, even if it is only a few a week.

Next step: Potty Training. Awwwww yeaaaahhh.

3 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering

  1. Jamie says:

    I just went to a cloth diapering class at a local store called cotton babies. I think we will give it a go if we have another baby. Adam isn’t sold, but I just think of the savings.

    • Nicole says:

      Yeah, Dan is completely not on board. CottonBabies is awesome! Have you been to their website? You can also find a diaper cost calculator…http://www.diaperpin.com/calculator/calculator.asp

      For me, it wasn’t cost effective to use cloth diapers, but I feel *so* much better when I do! I’ve stopped using them on Jasper because he’s just gotten too big for them. I’ll start MJ on them in another month when she fills out a bit more.

      Even if you just buy 2 or 3 diapers and use them one day a week, that’s a big impact!

Leave a Reply

