Friday Reads: September 2, 2011

Since last Friday, I think I’ve only read a couple pages of The Mysterious Benedict Society. I’d like to say it’s because I switched books, or because Dan and I discovered a new TV series to start, but no. It’s because I signed up for an account on Pinterest.com. This site took me a while to figure out and get into, but now that I have, I can’t turn away! The inspiration is ENDLESS. In fact, it’s making me want to be a better Mom because of all the cooking projects, sewing projects, craft ideas, Halloween costumes, home decorating…I could go on and on. This morning, I even took an extra 20 minutes blow drying my hair based on one of the tutorials I found on there. That’s saying a lot, folks.

Since I should probably talk about *some* book on my Friday Reads post, I’ll pick one that has inspired me as much as anything I’ve seen on Pinterest, as far as being a Mom goes:

The Toddler’s Busy Book by Trish Kuffner

This book has 365 different activities for a toddler, most of which are things I would do anyways (blow bubbles, draw with crayons, etc), but there are some gems in there as well. I first tested one out on my 3-year-old niece, and she had a lot of fun with it, so I figured this book was a keeper (the activity: make ice cubes of different colors using food dye, then put 1 of each in a Ziploc bag. Let the kiddo melt it and play around to see the different new colors it makes. For example, I put in a yellow and blue cube, and she was blown away that by the end, there was GREEN WATER in the bag!).

The absolute best part of this book, though, is in the beginning there is a list of all the items you might need throughout the book, so you can start collecting in advance. Toilet paper tubes, plastic Easter eggs, pipe cleaners, bubble wrap, shoe boxes, etc. Sadly, I had about two months worth of these trinkets, and then our basement sump pump went out and flooded the box of goodies. Sigh.

There’s also a chart, similar to a grocery list, that helps you plan each week and each activity. The author assumes that you can’t just whip these things out at a moment’s notice, so you have to plan ahead. And it’s true. There are a handful that actually take a lot of prep time, like making memory games and board games.

So while the illustrations inside the book aren’t as eye catching as the crafty blogs I found on Pinterest, it’s definitely been a book I’ve been referring back to often these past couple weeks, and will probably do more so over the next year.

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads: September 2, 2011

  1. Jamie says:

    I just saw that book on goodreads this morning and will be picking it up at the library hopefully! If its really that great, I may even buy it! (gasp!!!)

    • Nicole says:

      My friend gave me my copy, and it’s definitely nice to have around because I just kind of flip through it to find an activity that suits our day and supplies. I bet you could find it used on amazon for a good price. Aiden might like the pre-schooler version better though!

Leave a Reply

