Friday Reads: August 26, 2011

Finished French Lessons last night, to just “meh” reviews. I absolutely loved the descriptions of Paris, but the characters were all so depressing and miserable. I was hoping more for romance, not affairs and “what ifs?” Oh well, can’t win them all, I guess.

My brain is still mushy (thanks pregnancy hormones and heat wave), so I’m looking for something light to read next. Game of Thrones is on hold for me a the library, but I just don’t know if I can tackle a medieval fantasy, so instead I’m going to try another Young Adult fiction book: The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart.

I bought it for $1 at a garage sale last summer, and it’s been sitting on my night stand ever since. I think now is the time to flip through its pages! The book sounds a bit like a cross between Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Harriet the Spy. And considering how much fun I’ve had reading books catered toward tweens and teens this year, I think this should be a good one. I’ll keep you updated.

What are you reading this week/summer? I’m trying to cram in a book a week until Baby #2 arrives, because I know I’ll have a hard time even looking at pictures in a magazine once that happens!

Leave a Reply

