My Toddler, the 21-Month-Old

My baby boy is 21 months old today! Where has the time gone? Before I know it, he’ll be TWO.

Jasper at the park.

Every day I find that I’m more amazed at how much my little chunk understands. He can speak well over 100 words (and use them in the correct context), and follows multi-step commands. He loves all the Pixar movies, especially Toy Story and Cars. Eating has become a favorite past time. Pickles and pizza are his two favorites. Just within the past month he’s gotten the hang of using a fork and spoon, so he still needs some practice there. He sleeps about 12-13 hours at night, and about 1-2 hours during nap time.

He absolutely loves his Daddy, and sings to him every night (Twinkle Twinkle Little Star). His favorite book is “No No Yes Yes,” and we’re very grateful for that book because it taught him how to hold our hands when we’re out and about. We spend about 20 minutes to an hour each day drawing, although in his case, it’s just crayon scribbles (to be fair, mine are too…). We’re pretty sure he’s left handed, and he still sucks his thumb. He also is extremely attached to his “blankie,” of which we have three.

Jasper still cuddles a lot, loves to be held, and thinks his Grandparents are the hot tamales. We’re trying to get him used to the idea of having a new baby in the house, but I think he’s still a little young for that. We have lots of play dates with his cousins and friends, but he still prefers to hang out by himself. I’m sure that will change soon.

I feel like Jasper has made me one of *those* Moms, where all I want to do is talk about how great my kid is. Awww. I just love him so stinkin’ much.

6 thoughts on “My Toddler, the 21-Month-Old

  1. Angie says:

    Nicole,
    So glad you are writing again:) I am such a fan of your tone of voice and am thankful for the life you have. Dan and I fondly speak of the Chilton family. Glad to know you and excited for this new baby!
    ang

    • Nicole says:

      Angie! Your comment made my day. Dan and I think about The Rataj’s ALL the time! It’s good to hear from you, and I hope you’re well :)

  2. Caleb says:

    Aw, so cool! Neat to hear these updates. I haven’t seen y’all in foreeever! Hope you’re doing well. My nephew just started Kindergarten and Tae Kwan Do last week and my niece just turned two and is taking ballet and my new little niece just sleeps all the time. They sure grow up fast.

Leave a Reply

